A Guide to the PurplePort Calendar
By Laura SJ FD, written 1534433728.
The PurplePort Calendar allows you to keep track of when you are free to shoot, busy with something else, booked on a shoot, or away (amongst other things).
Using calendar bookings
Options you can set on your calendar are:
- Away & Available
- Unconfirmed Booking
- Part-confirmed Booking
Note: A booking will remain as Unconfirmed or Part-confirmed if one or more members invited to the booking have not accepted the booking.
Create a booking
To book a shoot with someone:
- Click My calendar from the purple cog
- Select the date which you want to book the shoot for
- Click Add a shoot. You can then add a time for the shoot, a description, and also add the name of the member (or members) who are involved in the shoot
- Make sure you click Add shoot at the bottom to save the booking
Anyone you have added to the booking will then be notified. They can choose to either Accept the shoot or Reject it. You will be notified of either option.
If someone adds you to a booking using their calendar then you will receive a notification, and you can either Accept the shoot or Reject the booking.
Edit a booking
If you have created a booking in your calendar then you will be able to edit the details. Click the date of the booking and click Edit shoot. Change the relevant details and then click Update shoot (or Cancel if you don’t want to make any changes).
If you have accepted a booking from another member to your calendar then you will not be able to edit the details of the booking.
Delete a booking
If you have created a booking in your calendar and added other members to it, or you have accepted a booking from someone else, then you can delete the booking from your own calendar.
Click the date of the booking and then Delete shoot. Any other members involved in the booking will then be notified that you have deleted it from your calendar.
Stay notified of calendar bookings
You can stay notified about bookings in your calendar either onsite via the notification bubble, or via email notification, or both.
If someone books a shoot with you using the calendar then you can be notified either onsite via the notification bubble, or via email notification, or both. You can either Accept the shoot or Reject the shoot via either of these notifications.
If you have booked a shoot with someone else and they either Accept the shoot or Reject the shoot then you will also be notified of this either onsite via the notification bubble, or via email notification, or both.
You can choose to be reminded about shoots booked into the calendar both before and after they are due by selecting the following options via the Customise button in the your notification bubble (top left of your page):
- Next day shoot reminder (before the shoot)
- Day after shoot reminder (after the shoot)
If someone accepts or deletes a booking arranged between you in the calendar then you will receive an onsite via the notification bubble.
When someone adds you to a booking in their calendar or they choose Accept the shoot or Reject the shoot on your booking then you will can be notified of this either onsite via the notification bubble, or via email notification, or both.
Setting your availability
Whether you are available last minute or generally available on a regular basis (e.g. Wednesday evenings, Saturday mornings, etc) you can let others know.
If you are available to shoot last minute at any time in the next few days then you can mark it simply using Last Minute Availability. This will help other members know that you're looking to work.
Options available for this are any (or all) of the following:
- I am available today
- I am available tomorrow
- I am available the day after tomorrow
Tick the relevant options and then click Save.
This availability won’t show up on your calendar, but will appear at the top of your portfolio as well as beneath replies you make in group posts. You won’t see this, but other members will.
This is used to mark regular times on your calendar when you are either always available or never available.
To do this click the My Availability button (top right of the calendar) and select the times you are regularly available. Then click Update my availability to save these changes.
Any days you are not available at all will be marked as Unavailable on your calendar. Days you are free on (even if you are only free for an hour) will be marked as Available and the actual times you are available for will be shown when hovering over the date.
Add an away notice
Creating an away notice means that anyone viewing your portfolio or messaging you will know you might not be able to respond. You can state how long you are away for, the new location you will be in, and if you are still available to shoot whilst you are away. You can also add any other information about your away notice that you want others to know about.
To add an away notice click on the date you are away from and then click Add an away notice. Once you've entered the details about your away notice you can then click Add away notice to save this to your calendar.
To remove an away notice click the date selected and then click Remove away notice.
By default your calendar will be shown on your portfolio, but you can choose to hide it so only you can see it.
To hide your calendar on your portfolio page go to the grey cog on your calendar and make sure the Show a calendar gadget on my portfolio page is un-ticked. This option will also mean that no one can view your calendar even if you provide them with direct link to the URL of your calendar.
To show your calendar on your portfolio page go to the grey cog on your calendar and make sure the Show a calendar gadget on my portfolio page is ticked.